Thinnest Crust Tortilla Pizza

For a while, I was obsessed with making personal pizzas on Naan bread. While I still love those, I recently tried making a very thin crust pizza on an extra-large flour tortilla, which you can find in the Mexican section of any major grocery store.

After trying this, my husband said, “I gotta tell ya, I ALWAYS want pizza this way!” Score one for Wifey.

I make these all the time. They’re great for a Saturday lunch – like we had today – or for a quick and easy weeknight dinner, paired with a tossed salad. Here’s how to do it (I made two at the same time today, but you can scale up or down):

IMPORTANT NOTE: For a one-pan meal, use an all-metal pan for this, so you can go from stove top to oven. If you don’t have an all-metal pan, make the crust on the stove top, then transfer the crust to a baking sheet with a spatula before putting it into the oven.

Crust:

  • On your stove top, turn a large burner on medium high (7 out of 10 is my go-to temp).
  • Spray generously with non-stick spray, then let warm for about a minute.
  • Put one extra-large flour tortilla in the warmed pan, and let cook for about 3 minutes. The point is to get the bottom of the tortilla a little bit crusty, so that your crust is more sturdy, and will stand up to the toppings better.
  • Look for the tortilla to bubble up – that’s a sign it’s about ready to pull off the burner.image5
  • When you see this, lift the edge of the tortilla with a spatula, and make sure the bottom is getting browned, and hardening up a bit (but isn’t burned).
  • Pull the pan off the heat and put on a hot plate for topping.

Sauce & Toppings:

  • This crust is VERY thin, so remember that as you’re piling things on top of it. I try to use minimal sauce and a small amount of each topping.
  • I put a spoonful or two of jarred pizza sauce that you can get at the grocery story in the middle of the tortilla – just enough to cover – then use the bottom of the spoon to spread it around. I add a clove of chopped garlic too.

image7

  • Add toppings.
    •  For this pizza, I used a small amount of cooked mushrooms and kale. I like cooked veggies, but if you don’t have time, raw is 100% fine – do what makes it easy for you. Or, go with just cheese, or cheese and pre-sliced, packaged pepperoni – quickness at its best!
    • I coated a small skillet with non-stick spray and let it warm for about a minute. For two pizzas, I added a couple of handfuls of both sliced baby portabella mushrooms (they come this way in the grocery story) and let those cook on medium high for 5 minutes, then added a couple of handfuls of chopped kale with stems removed. I covered the skillet and let it cook for about 3 more minutes to wilt the kale a bit (this takes away the bitterness and stiffness).
  • I then added some shredded mozzarella to the top – just enough to cover the toppings.

Broil:

  • Turn the broiler to high, then stick your pizza in the oven.
  • It takes 4-5 minutes in my oven, and I look for the edges of the tortilla to brown slightly and turn up a bit and for the cheese to get nice and brown and bubbly (Note that since I had two pans in the oven, the side more in the center of the oven got more done. Turn halfway through to avoid the mistake I made.):

image9

  • When your pizza looks like this, take it out of the oven – remember to use an oven mit, an all-metal pan it super hot!
  • Slip it out of the pan and onto a cutting board by angling the pan a bit – that non-stick spray helps this happen!

image10

  • Slice as you wish (I make 6 pieces of pizza out of each XL tortilla).

Enjoy with fresh herbs, crushed red pepper, hot sauce, or whatever toots your pizza horn!

Variations:

  • If you’re in a rush, you can skip the step of browning the crust. But, if you have time, I think it makes for a better result.
  • You can cook your veggies or not, whatever your preference. If you don’t, they’ll just be a little crunchier.
  • Top with whatever you want – this is just one of hundreds of options!

 

Leave a Reply

